PLP 55th Annual Founders Day

Photographs by Anthony Wade

The Progressive Labour Party celebrated its 55th Annual Founder’s Day and Drum Major Awards Luncheon on March 3rd, 2018. Many of the party stalwarts attended this event held for the first time at the CedarBridge Academy. Participating in the program were Mr. Dennis Lister III, JP, MP, Ms. Atiya Furqan, Party Chair Mr. Damon Wade, Home Affairs Minister & Deputy Premier, The Hon. Walter Roban, JP, MP, Silent Praise, Mr. Sabur Burrows, Mr. Willard Burch, Premier, The Hon. David Burt, JP, MP and keynote speaker Tourism & Transport Minister, The Hon. Zane Desilva.

Mr. Desilva spoke about his very humble origins and his family, his early days as a workman, his introduction to politics and his various political mentors, race relations and the many, many proud accomplishments of the PLP governments.

Seven community standouts were recognized for the 2018 Drum Major Awards. These were, Mr. Herbie Bascome, Sr., Mr. Roderick Burchall, Mr. Winters Burgess, Mr. Wentworth Christopher, Mrs. Roslyn Simmons and Mr. Clifford & Mrs. Inez Stevens. They were recognized for their positive contribution to the community, and the lives of others through their fields of endeavor through volunteering, or other achievements that were a source of inspiration.